Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content



The Engineering Profession Act (no. 46 of 2000) requires the ECSA to set standards for both professional competency as well as for education and training outcomes in engineering. The ECSA committed itself to aligning its standard setting functions with the principles of the NQF, in order to provide convergence in engineering education and training.


The Standards and Procedures unit of the ECSA is specifically tasked (amongst others) with the management, facilitation and coordination of the following core activities: 
  • Development of Qualifications and Unit Standards
    The ECSA, has established its role as an engineering education and training quality assurer. It facilitates the Engineering Standards Generating Body (ESGB) - registered by SAQA in 2000 - to develop, register and maintain stage 1 and 2 engineering qualifications and standards for new categories of engineering relating to health and safety (on specific requests from stakeholders such as national departments or other economic sectors). The newly developed standards are then sent for registration on the National Qualifications Framework.


Standards Development

 Standards Completed

New Engineering Technology Qualification Standards

To search for qualifications on the SAQA searchable database visit  
  • Specified Categories
    The ECSA’s core business is expansion. The range of registration categories is being ever-increased, in response to requests from government departments (in order to meet engineering-related health and safety requirements). As consequence, an increasing range of organisations look to the ECSA for assistance in areas such as standards setting, quality assurance and certification of individuals. These new developments represent a new set of activities outside the council’s current core business. The Council recognises that these future activities may have components in the Further Education and Training band.

Standards for Specified Categories


This core business expansion therefore entails:

  • The development and introduction of new categories of registration
  • The creation of a mechanism whereby registration with the ECSA, in a particular category, is used for licencing responsible persons under various Health and Safety Acts.?
ECSA Council appointed a Joint Implementation Committee (JIC) with membership coming from all registration categories at ECSA including the Specified Categories. The purpose of this committee was to ensure that the new competency standards were adopted into the registration system and the specific areas or mandate of the committee is as shown in the direct link of the S & P’s front page.


View Policies


View Standards